DearMYRTLE hangouts

REGISTER using your favorite social media button below.
Then check your confirmation and reminder emails for your personal link to VIEW and COMMENT.
For first time users:
FAQ System requirements for: Computers, Android devices, iPhone / iPad
To keep the conversation going share this page with your friends!

GenDoc Study Group

Panelists will read the chapter and submit homework by noon on Monday before a study group session. Viewers may complete homework assignments, though priority will be given to discussion of panel participant’s submissions. Please reference the syllabus and include your name at the top of each homework assignment. Post homework in a blog or public Google Doc and post the link in the hangout for the appropriate chapter’s study group session. Also take care to observe the book’s copyright restrictions. DearMYRTLE will serve as the opinionated moderator.


Syllabus

Thomas W. Jones, Mastering Genealogical Documentation, (Arlington, Virginia: National Genealogical Society, 2017.) Softbound available from the publisher’s website www.ngsgenealogy.com. Kindle format at Amazon here: https://www.amazon.com/Mastering-Genealogical-Documentation-Thomas-Jones/dp/B0743HCD4T

 

Wednesday, 13 Sep 2017

Chapter 1 - The Purpose and Nature of Genealogical Documentation

Homework submitted by panel participants.

 

Wednesday, 20 Sep 2017

Chapter 2 - Noncitation Aspects of Genealogical Documentation

Homework submitted by panel participants.

 

Wednesday, 27 Sep 2017

Chapter 3 - Citation Settings, Forms and Shortcuts

Homework submitted by panel participants.

 

Wednesday, 4 Oct 2017

Chapter 4 - Assembling Components into Clear Citations

Homework submitted by panel participants.

 

Wednesday, 11 Oct 2017

Chapter 5 - Capitalization, Italics, Punctuation and Other Citation Subtleties

Homework submitted by panel participants.

 

Wednesday, 18 Oct 2017

Chapter 6 - Determining a Source's Publication Status

Homework submitted by panel participants.

 

Wednesday, 25 Oct 2017

Chapter 7 - Issues in Citing Source Titles, Descriptions or Both

Homework submitted by panel participants.

 

Wednesday, 1 Nov 2017

Chapter 8 - Authors, Creators and Informants

 

Wednesday, 8 Nov 2017

Chapter 9 - Citing Absent, Hidden, Obvious, and Perplexing Dates for Sources, Information and Events

 

Wednesday, 15 Nov 2017

Chapter 10 - Citing Numbered, Grouped, and Subgrouped Offline Sources and Information Items

 

Wednesday, 22 Nov 2017

Chapter 11 - Answering the Wherin and Whereis Citation Questions for Online Sources

 

Wednesday, 29 Nov 2017

Chapter 12 - Identifying Offline Publishers and Repositories

 

Wednesday, 6 Dec 2017

Chapter 13 - Citing Original Online Content

 

Wednesday, 13 Dec 2017

Chapter 14 - Citing Images of Previously Published Material

 

(December break)

 

Wednesday, 3 Jan 2018

Chapter 15 - Citing Images of Previously Unpublished Material

 

Wednesday, 10 Jan 2018

Chapter 16 - Multiparty Options for Citing Images

 

Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018

Chapter 17 - Documenting on Your Own

 

Disclosure Statement

Copyright 1995 - 2017 Pat Richley-Erickson, Myrt@DearMYRTLE.com, All Rights Reserved.